RSS

Welcome to Mommy I’m Hungy!!

04 Jan

Welcome to Mommy I’m Hungy.  No, I didn’t misspell hungry…that’s how my 2 1/2 year old daughter, Cheyenne, says it.  I’m starting this blog as a way to keep track of things we eat and to share the yummy recipes with all of you!!

I am just getting started here, so bare with me and hopefully in time, my pictures will get better.

For our first cooked meal of the year, I decided to make something in my crockpot.  I love crockpot meals because you can start them and leave them.  Or in my case, start them and spend time with my little munchkin.  It is so much easier than trying to fix dinner, distract her, hope I don’t burn something, and try to keep her entertained all at the same time. 

I got this recipe from Miller Musings and it looked so good, so I tried it and it was wonderful!  I took a couple of her suggestions and made it a little different.  Everyone loved it, except for my 2 1/2 year old, but then again, she’s never had soup.  My parents absolutely loved it and I even heated some up for lunch a couple of days later and it was just as good. 

 

Crockpot Chicken Tortilla Soup

2 chicken boneless skinless chicken breasts
2 cans Lime & Cilantro Ro-Tel  (you can use the regular if you prefer)
1 can black beans, rinsed and drained
1 can kidney beans, rinsed and drained
1 can corn
1 onion, chopped
2 cans low-sodium chicken broth
1-2 cups of water  (I like my soup a little thicker, so I only used 1 cup of water)
1 packet of Taco seasoning

tortilla chips
sour cream
shredded Monterey Jack or Mexican blend cheese

Put chopped onion, cans of beans, rotel, corn, chicken broth, water, and taco seasoning in your Crock Pot and stir to mix. Put chicken breasts on top of mixture and push them down into the liquid. Cook on high 6-7 hours or low 8-9 hours. Before serving remove the chicken breasts from soup and shred, if needed.  Mine just literally fell apart and needed very little help to shred.  Return the chicken to your Crock Pot and stir to mix it all in.

To serve put a few tortilla chips in the bottom of a bowl, ladle soup over tortilla chips, top with shredded cheese, and a dollop of sour cream, serve with more chips if you like.

I hope you like it as much as I did!! 

Comments are always welcome!!

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 4, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
