RSS

Parmesan Romano Panko Herb Crusted Chicken Breasts

27 Jan
Parmesan Romano Panko Herb Crusted Chicken Breasts

I tried another new recipe tonight and it was pretty good, but I was so rushed because I had a mom’s night with our playgroup and so I was rushing to get dinner done because as usual, it takes longer than the recipe says. 

Once I got dinner done, I had to rush to make my dessert to take to mom’s night, which is posted here, and I didn’t even feel like eating, but I did take a few bites and this chicken was amazing!! 

Parmigiano Panko Herb Encrusted Chicken Breasts

4-6 chicken breasts (enough for your family)
olive oil
panko flakes – enough for breading
1 1/2 cupsParmesan Romano– grated
2 tablespoons dried basil
salt/pepper

1. Trim your chicken breasts of any excess fat. Take a piece of plastic wrap and cover your chicken breasts. Pound them out with a mallet until they’re about 1/4″ thick.

2. In a large deep sided pan (I used my chicken fryer) over medium-high heat, put enough olive oil to pan fry your chicken breasts.

3. WHILE your oil is heating, place panko flakes into a pie dish (or another dish large enough to bread your chicken). Add Parmigiano, basil and season with salt and pepper. Mix together with a fork. Press chicken breasts into Panko mixture, breading chicken on both sides. Continue until all chicken is breaded.

4. Place breaded chicken breasts into hot oil and fry until golden brown on both sides. Turning as necessary. Careful not to crowd the pan (do batches if necessary) Roughly 3 minutes per side depending on the thickness of chicken. Allow chicken breasts to rest before serving. 

It took a little more than 3 minutes for me, but then I had the stove on medium heat.  When I turned it up to medium high, or a little above, they browned really quickly and didn’t get done in the middle, so I had to cook a little longer and the breading got a little more browned. 

They really were good and I plan on making them again when I’m not so rushed.  I made Cheesy Zucchini Rice with this and it was really good too!! 

As always, let me know if you make this and how you like it!  I love comments!!

Happy Cooking,

Lori

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 27, 2012 in Chicken

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
