RSS

Oma’s Sour Cream Chicken

23 Feb
Oma’s Sour Cream Chicken

I haven’t posted the last couple of days’ recipes due to a sever sinus headache/migraine yesterday.  Needless to say, I didn’t cook anything last night.  I was able to get a little quiet time to myself last night, because my parents went out to dinner and took Cheyenne with them.  So I was able to lay down in a quiet room for about an hour and just rest.  They brought me some dinner back and I managed to eat it slowly but surely between waves of nausea.

So today, I am feeling better and can finally post what I’ve fixed the last few nights.

I made a yummy meal the other night that everyone loved!  Even Cheyenne ate quite a bit and loved it!  I love hearing “Mommy you make good chicken!”  or whatever we’re eating when she eats the meals I fix.

So here it is….this recipe is from Making Life Delicious

Oma’s Sour Cream Chicken

  • 2 pounds chicken breasts or tenders (Oma prefers breasts)
  • 1 1/2 cups of Pepperidge Farm Herbed Stuffing, the crumbles not the cubes (Oma accepts no substitutes)
  • 1 cup (approximately) of full fat sour cream
  • kosher salt
  • freshly ground pepper
  • garlic powder
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, cubed

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.  This is classic Oma in that it is less about the recipe and more about the process.  Lay the chicken close together on a foil lined baking sheet.  Sprinkle with salt, pepper and garlic powder.

Coat with a thick layer of sour cream.

Top that with the seasoned Pepperidge Farm breadcrumbs and then dot with the butter.

Bake in a 375 degree F oven for 35 minutes for chicken tenders or up to an hour for chicken breasts.

Its ready when the chicken is cooked through and the breadcrumbs are nicely browned.

I used tenderloins because I didn’t have any breasts when I went to take some chicken out to thaw.  It was really good and I think I’ll use breasts next time and see how that turns out.

I made baked potatoes and okra to go along with this delicious chicken and I will definitely be making this again!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Let me know if you get a chance to make this and how your family likes it!

Happy Cooking,

Lori

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 23, 2012 in Chicken, Quick & Easy

 

Tags: ,

One response to “Oma’s Sour Cream Chicken

  1. Kathryn

    February 23, 2012 at 11:51 am

    Looks yummo!

     

Leave a Reply

 
